THE PATH OF THE FABRIANO CHURCH
From the origins to the construction of our Diocese in 1775
A treasure rich in art and history
The Diocesan Museum of Fabriano-Matelica, inaugurated on the 8th September 2015, is located on the ground floor of Fabriano’s Bishop Palace. It establishes itself as a vivid witness of the history of the Church of Fabriano and it visibly displays its centuries-old path. The museum’s historical itinerary begins from the X-XI centuries, an era when the territory of Fabriano started acquiring its own cultural and social identity thanks to the numerous Benedictine settlements until 1785, the year when Fabriano develops into a City and Diocese jointly with Matelica. Of great relevance in the artistic history of the City is the period going from the 4th to the 5th century during which Fabriano’s painting school, nurtured by Assisi’s giotto-esque experience and eventually by the personality of Gentile da Fabriano produced an outstanding number of artists and artworks.. The museum is home to paintings, sculptures, prints, holy pots, furnishings, reliquaries, liturgical hangings revealing the ability of artists, craftsmen and local and non-local masters to convey a sense of religion and the devotion of the Christian community through their artworks.